DIY: Spray Booth

This is one thing that every modeler dealing with airborne paint, be it, cans or airbrushes should have if painting indoors. Instead of buying a brand booth I just opted for building a custom booth for myself.

Living in an apartment, the room I have to paint is a small veranda, and even if I open the windows that won’t deal with the toxic fumes that result from painting, and not only that but the draft and rain can ruin your work.

I checked several options, but the brands sell booths extremely expensive and they don’t go cheap on replacement filters as well, so I just did a bit more research and planned a custom made booth.

After doing some measurements of the space I had available I draw the schematic for the box, and gave it to a neighbor, who is a carpenter, to build it for me. I could have made the thing myself sure, but it’s not like he charged me anything anyway, and made by him is certainly much better than anything I could make.

While the box was being made I went shopping for a fan. I needed power but not too much. I’m using a flexible aluminum tube to extract the vapors that is very restrictive on airflow, but I had no way of building a rigid setup. I ended choosing a 300cfm kitchen exhaust type fan, which should provide enough airflow and is designed with the motor outside the airflow. This is important since paint solvent can damage the sealing in the circuits and the sparks of the motor can ignite the flammable vapors. This is highly unlikely, but better safe than sorry. Another benefit of this type of fan is that is copes better with the backdraft specially strong when using flexible tubes.

With the fan and box in hand, it was a matter of putting both together and wiring a switch on the side. To complete it, I added a clear acrylic lid, to enable me to store some parts in there to dry while safe from dust or other contaminants.

With it done and the blitz in the assembly line I took it for a test run and must say that I’m very pleased with the result. It’s nosy, but very efficient, and the geometry of the box makes the draft stronger in the upper area away from the main painting area, avoiding making dust run into the parts.

End result, I finish painting and there is no smell left, so I’m pretty happy with it.

5 responses to “DIY: Spray Booth

  1. Where did you get that exhaust fan from? I’m looking around and cannot find anything like it that is that high of a CFM.

    • Hardware store. It’s meant to be used as a kitchen exhaust fan. Can’t tell you exactly where you can find something similar you in your country ,unfortunately.

      • Ok. Thanks for getting back to me. Atleast i have an idea of where to start looking. I have seen a few bathroom fans that might work but they don’t move anywhere close to the 300cfm so i’ll go shopping this weekend and see what i can find.

      • No problem. Honestly you don’t need so much power, specially if you are piping it out close by, so even one bathroom fan should do the job even if a bit slower to clear up the place after your are done spraying 🙂

Leave a Reply

