Academy 1/35 M113, Portuguese BiMec APC WIP #2

20130211_M113 Tuga_0001

And after a bit more work on this kit representing the BiMec 403 car, I got it to look a bit like the real deal.

20130211_M113 Tuga_0002

After painting the base colour with ZModels Olive green I added the markings. Some of the decals didn’t turn out that good, with some silvering here and there. I am not completely pissed with it because the real car actually shows some as well, it seems some of the markings are stickers. Still I’ll have to cut some more of the transparent film next time.

20130211_M113 Tuga_0003

For the optics I painted the infra-red ones with Tamiya gloss black and used AK 2.3 mm optics for the others. It’s a simple addition but it really gives a nice look.

20130211_M113 Tuga_0004

With the markings in place time for some Tamiya flat clear to cut some of the shine. After drying I gave it a good wash of burnt umber. It’s somewhat discreet but you can see some dirt where the wash accumulated. I kinda like the effect.

20130211_M113 Tuga_0005

Time now to paint some more bits and bobs like the stop light and the tracks in the front as well as the periscopes. At my eyes at the time they looked fine but seeing the pictures I noticed that I definitely should have made a better work out of them.

20130211_M113 Tuga_0006

Previously I had also added some photo-etch to the engine grills on top. Again it is a simple addition that gives an instant boost to the looks of the model.

20130211_M113 Tuga_0007

With most of the painting done it was now a matter of adding a couple more touches by drilling the machine gun nozzle and making an antennae with stretched sprue.

20130211_M113 Tuga_0008

 

It’s almost done. I plan on adding just a touch more wear with some more oils and pigments as well as making a small terrain.

Thank you for watching.

Leave a Reply

