Gundam Age-2 Normal 1/144 HG WIP #3 – Shading

Some progress worth of seeing finally. Finished airbrushing the white yellow and red pieces and tried post shading for the first time.

I think it turned out ok.

Lets see it closer:

To achieve this shaded effect I painted the parts with a light bluish grey and next I highlighted them with pure white. Finally I did two light coats of white all over, to smooth the transition and tone the shading down a bit.

For shading I used my procon boy platinum, an airbrush with a 0.2mm needle which came out handy for the smaller sections. It is a technique that generally is easy and doesn’t require fine control, but the smaller sections require some attention and the best advice is to just go slow and build layer over layer.

I felt that after practising on some spare plastic that I could pull it off and honestly the most difficult part is controlling the flow of the paint and having the correct mixture. Several times I pooled paint and had to redo those parts, but eventually I got the hang of it. Again the best advice I can give is to go slow and let the layers build up.

What do you think ?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

